Sunday, April 11, 2010

The Chronicles of Stacy, Part I

Dear Stacy,

Now that we've been neighbors for a good... oh... 8 months, I thought it was finally time that I address some of your habits which are not only hella annoying, but that are becoming somewhat worrisome in terms of how safe I feel sharing a wall with you.  To begin, let's chronicle the interactions that we have had just so that we're all on the same page.

Move-in day, September 2009
Maggie:  Hi!  I'm Maggie, and this is Philip.  We're your new neighbors!

Stacy: Dude hey, what's up. Dude that's awesome.  Yeah, I mean, I'm Stacy.  I live here by myself, you know, but I'm cool.  This place is totally chill.  Those guys over there just moved in (*points to my other next door neighbor) and there totally chill.  Mark over here is chill, we're just all chill.

M:  Oh...kay, cool. Well nice to meet you.

S: Yeah dude that's chill.  It's great that you're moving in because we can watch out for each others' places.

M: (*???) Great.  Well, have a nice day.

Encounter with Mark (Stacy's other next-door neighbor) October 2009
BANG BANG BANG BANG BANG.
Phil and I woke up to the sound of someone banging very loudly on what we thought was OUR front door. We also woke up to the slightly muted sound of the Beach Boys... loud enough that I could actually sing along to the song... coming from your apartment. It was 2:30am.

Since I was too scared to go downstairs and see what the hell was going on, I made Phil go.  Apparently, Phil opened our front door to your OTHER neighbor, Mark, who was trying to WAKE YOU UP TO TURN DOWN YOUR RADIO.  Unfortunately, Mark, Phil, and myself all know that this is a habit of yours... to turn on your stereo to an 80s rock playlist on repeat, and leave for the weekend.  I don't so much mind the music choices, but I think we'd all agree that jamming to Billy Idol at 4:00 in the morning isn't something I regularly like to do.

Unfortunately for you, this was the beginning of our alliance with Mark, against you.

Request for Security, November 2009
This was one of the first times that you asked us to "keep an eye" on your place whenever you're gone.  I think it went something like this...

M: Oh hey, Stacy, how's it going?

S: Hi guys.  So I've been having some problems with some people coming over here that shouldn't be here, okay.  And I've been trying to get away from that, you know?

M: Ummm... what?

S: Yeah, well, you know,  I used to party a lot, you know. And I'm just trying to get away from that now.  So there's a couple of guys that might come around but I'm just not really into that anymore, you know?  So if you see people around, you know, then they're probably not supposed to be here.  So anyways, I'll let you guys know when I'm leaving for the weekend or somethin so you can keep an eye out, you know.

M:  Uh, sure. Yeah, just let us know.
--
There ended up being 2 specific problems with this arrangement:
1) You never once told us when you were leaving for an extended period of time.  We only knew because your radio would be on for 3 days.
2) You have strange people over your house everyday.  I don't even think I've seen the same person there twice.  Now, I'm not here to judge, but your behavior over the past 8 months has led Phil and myself to draw the following conclusions:
-You may be a prostitute.  You keep very odd hours... regularly are up until 4 or 5 in the morning, banging  tools and moving furniture, falling down the stairs repeatedly.  I don't even know.  You have strange men and women coming into your house at all hours, and like I said before, they are always a new visitor as far as we can tell.  Mark has commented that your "lesbian love noises" keep him and his wife up at night.  I feel bad for Mark, but am overjoyed that our bedrooms don't share a wall.
-You do some hard-core drugs.  You are extremely paranoid.  You twitch.  You yell... to yourself?  You dig through your own trash in your backyard.  You have guests that come in and out with black duffel bags... Maybe you're the dealer!

Cop behind our houses, January 2010
Phil and I were going out to our cars to leave somewhere, and lo-and-behold, there was a police officer parked in your parking space!  We were surprised to say the least, but he seemed like a nice guy so we said 'what's up.'

P&M: Oh, hello!

Cop: Hey guys, how's it going? Do you know your neighbor?

M: A little... (*sees Stacey walking outside to meet with the Cop)

Cop: Does she have mental problems?

P&M: shrug

The day we knew you had mental problems, February 2010
BANG BANG BANG...

To be continued...

Sincerely,
Maggie

No comments:

Post a Comment

Arrrg! Scrawl yur quandries ere!